Smugglers Cove, Since 1938
Formerly The Commodore Hotel: Historically The Island's Fourth Beach-Side Hotel
Before we became Smuggler’s Cove, our location was occupied by one of the first four island hotels to be constructed during the early 1900’s. That hotel was the ‘Commodore Hotel’ and completed in 1938 by Cyril and Rhett Smith. The initial design was constructed with beach sand, coquina, and limestone rock to create the building materials.
See a brief timeline of Smuggler’s Cove below!
A Brief History of Smuggler's Cove
During the 1940's during the WWII years the Commodore Hotel was a hub of activity when busloads of military were brought to the beach for R&R. On Sunday afternoons, buses left directly for the airbases in Fort Myers, and the Commodore provided bathhouses, ice cold sodas and beer, chili and cheese hotdogs and hamburgers, while dancing was always popular on the gulf front patio.
A Timeless Treasure
In time, the Commodore Hotel also relinquished its name and site. After years of severe hurricane damage, the elegant rebuilt hotel's large dining room, cocktail lounge, recreation room and elaborate sundeck overlooking the Gulf with 17 additional beach cottages and roadside efficiencies, was replaced with "Smuggler's Cove" condominiums on the coin toss site of the island's fourth beachside hotel.